The Court of Appeal was founded under Act No. 50/2016 and was established on January 2, 2018.

It is the mid-judicial level, situated between the district courts and the Supreme Court of Iceland.


The Court of Appeal resides in the Reykjavik Metropolitan Area but covers the entire country. Fifteen justices sit on the Court of Appeal. 

Generally, three justices hear a case for the court, except as otherwise directed in the Act on Civil Procedure No. 91/1991 and Law on Criminal Procedure No. 88/2008. Three justices generally decide the right of appeal, and whether an appeal will be heard.

Hervör Þorvaldsdóttir is the President of the Court of Appeal.